2018 VQ Indoor Awards Evening

The 2018 VQ Indoor Awards were held on Saturday, 01 December at the Queensland Cricketers’ Club. Hosting 250 guests, the awards evening is the highlight of Volleyball Queensland’s event calendar.

The awards ceremony celebrated our states finest including Queensland’s AJVC teams, AVL Pirates, VQ competitions, and Schools Cups, as well as major individual awards including coaching, refereeing, and female and male athletes of the year. This year’s awards evening also celebrated the Life Membership of VQ President, Boris Georgieff, along with the presentation of nine 2017/18 Beach Volleyball Awards.

Thank you to all of the athletes, parents, life members, board members, and special guests for attending this year’s event; it made for a wonderful evening celebrating volleyball in our great state.

Volleyball Queensland would like to congratulate all of the individual award winners on the night for their outstanding contribution throughout the year.

Listed below are the individuals who took out one of VQ’s major awards:

  • 2018 Queensland Community Referee of the Year – Desmond Billy
  • 2018 Queensland Representative Referee of the Year – Chris Kelly
  • 2018 Queensland Community Coach of the Year – David Ethell
  • 2018 Queensland Representative Coach of the Year – Cam Bettenay
  • 2018 Queensland Affiliate of the Year – Gold Coast Volleyball Club
  • 2018 Queensland Junior Indoor Male Player of the Year – Mark Nicolaidis
  • 2018 Queensland Junior Indoor Female Player of the Year – Annelies Jones
  • 2018 Queensland Senior Indoor Male Player of the Year – Ben Bell
  • 2018 Queensland Senior Indoor Female Player of the Year – Kylie Garlick
  • 2018 Queensland International Indoor Player of the Year – Beau Graham

A full list of award winners can be found on the Awards page of the VQ website.

Photograph courtesy of Rogue Gun.

volleyball queensland @ 2024