The Australian Volleyball League (AVL) is the national indoor volleyball league for men and women. This league has developed in format over the past few years, servicing the various demands of elite men’s and women’s volleyball, drawn largely from club and state volleyball players.

The Queensland Pirates are one of the strongest teams in AVL. Both men’s and women’s teams have a history of success with the men’s team awarded the championship in 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018, and the women’s team earning the 2012 championship and silver (2016) and bronze medals (2017) in subsequent years.

2019 Asian Men’s Club Volleyball Championships

As winners of the 2018 Australian Volleyball League, the QLD Pirates men’s team has been invited to compete in the 2019 Asian Men’s Club Volleyball Championships. This is the first time the QLD Pirates will compete internationally and sets an exciting precent for future QLD Pirates players and teams.

The tournament will take place from 18-26 April in Taipei, Taiwan.

QLD Pirates Touring Team

2018 QLD Pirates and Buccaneers

In 2018, the QLD Pirates and Buccaneers sides competed in two AVL tournaments. The first was the Home and Away Series in which the Pirates won both the men’s and women’s titles, the second was the AVL Championships where our Pirate’s men claimed the gold medals, our women in 6th place, and the Buccaneers men and Buccaneers women in 6th and 11th place respectively.

For further information, please contact our Events Manager.

AVL Results History
QLD Pirates Partners
volleyball queensland @ 2019